RSS Feed

Clothesline Profile – Lynnette in Texas

Posted on

Lynnette and I met a long time ago – we both served in the Peace Corps at the same time (though not in the same village) and have developed a friendship over the years.  This picture is of us at my then boyfriend’s house in around 2000 (he’s now my hubby).  The big dog was her now hubby’s dog and the black dog was my beloved Carbon.  

Lynnette is not originally from Texas, she grew up in Vermont and lived near Boston up until a couple of years ago.  She and her hubby have a fixer upper house, too (just like I do) and are working on it all of the time (just like me)…

I’m glad that you get to “meet” a good friend of mine, too!  But, I really would love to meet more of you.  I’m running out of people to profile – so if you have a line, PLEASE send me pictures and a little write up!  It’s not hard and it’s really lots of fun.  Thanks!

I guess you could say I have been hanging clothes out on the line for as long as I can remember. Before I could reach the lines, I would hand the clothespins to my mom as she hung the clothes.

The lines in this picture were put up at her house when I was about 8 or 9 years old, and are still in use today. Later, it would become an after school chore to gather the clothes from the lines – and at that age it certainly was a chore, especially in the winter in VT.

In the worst weather, we would use the lines in the basement. These were built from simple drop-down supports from the overhead ceiling joists.

     Later, as a Peace Corps volunteer, hanging clothes was obligatory, and it became a custom for me upon my return. I had rented a house in MA for several years, and during my time there, installed an inexpensive retractable clothesline on the enclosed back porch, then added a pulley line from the porch to a tree at the edge of the yard. The neighbors didn’t seem to mind, and in fact added their own pulley line mirroring mine to that same tree from their porch.
     Now relocated to Lindale, TX, I use my lines much more frequently and with more gusto than ever before. My outdoor posts were already installed when I moved in (top line picture) and although they really need to be sanded and repainted, I ran an inexpensive rope to get started – note the handy clothespin bag in the center of the nearest line.
     In case of inclement weather, I have an indoor drying rack and also use a rod in my laundry room to dry things on hangers.
     I now see the wisdom of passing this to my children, and it has become one of the tasks for my 13-year-old son to hang out and later bring in the laundry from the line. It gets him outside, and helps me out – what could be better?
4 responses »

  1. How fun!! Your grass is so green down there in Texas… I’d have to do some serious photoshopping to get my grass to look like that.. our draught is terrible but the one good thing this weather is good for?? hanging out clothes!…

    Reply
    • Annie – Lynnette lives in NE Texas, where they’ve had a bit more rain than the rest of us. Out near Austin – it is bone dry. We only water the grass to help keep the trees alive and as a buffer against any wildfire (knock on wood). This is a HORRIBLE drought… and the weather service guys are saying we’re probably in for ANOTHER year of it.

      Though, you’re right. It is perfect for drying clothes on the line!!!

      Reply
  2. Great story and I love love love your clothespin bag!

    Reply
  3. A note on the green grass: It has also been very dry in this part of Texas. One of the discoveries we made in our fixer-upper is that the previous owners had routed all of the non-sewage-containing water to a separate tank and field than the sewage. The top of this tank has an opening/cover which at first, we couldn’t quite figure out, but later realized was for putting in a sump pump. We purchased a small sump pump to give it a try, and now water a large section of our lawn using the waste water from the kitchen sink, showers, and other sinks. We have a good filter on the pump to keep as much soap and other impurities from the lawn, and it has had no adverse effects on the grass. The soap tends to build up in the tank and float on top, and can easily be cleaned out periodically. We adjusted the pump so that this flotsam doesn’t ever reach the intake of the pump. The custom lid/cover keeps it safe from anything (or anyone) falling in.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

