RSS Feed

Ice Cube Trays

Posted on

Well, today is a bit of a blast from the past.   When I was a kid, my paternal grandparents had these cool old fashioned ice cube trays – the metal ones with the handle that you had to pull up to break the ice apart.  Remember?  They tended to break the ice into smaller bits, but as a kid – I liked the little ice (as does my daughter).

Recently, my good friend, Edna, found a set of these at a yard sale for less than $1.  Score!  I am now using them as my only source of ice – and I’ve found that they’re easier to get the cubes out of than the plastic trays.

Wish that you had some of your own?  The only place that I’ve found them is at the Vermont Country Store.  They’re about $20 for 2 trays, which is a bit pricey, but would be a lovely gift for someone!   I’d love to try the new ones out if someone were so inclined… wink wink.

Just thought that I’d share my love of my ice cube trays…  after all, it’s only supposed to hit 105 here today and I was needing to think cooling thoughts!

4 responses »

  1. Your friend looks drunk.

    Reply
  2. We always had these at our camp growing up. I just found half of a set last week!

    Reply
    • Vanessa – are you going to start using them again? They’re just fun… why did folks stop using them? They even used to come included with the fridge when you bought it!

      Reply
  3. My husband and I were just remembering our mom’s making popsicles using those trays and popsicle sticks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

