RSS Feed

Pillowcase Clothespin Apron Tutorial

I’m SO EXCITED to share with you my latest creation!!!!

This is a clothespin apron made out of a PILLOWCASE!  No, really!

Do you love it?  Because, you’re in luck!  You can make your own!  I’m giving away this tutorial for FREE!

The beauty of this pattern is, the only thing you need (besides the normal sewing machine stuff) is a pillowcase and some thread.  That’s it!  The pattern makes use of the entire case, there are only a few tiny scraps left when you are done making the apron!

And, the apron is double thick – so it’s nice and sturdy.  It is great for clothespins but also for picking beans, gathering eggs, collecting nuts, craft projects – lots of stuff!

Apron specifics:
– should hold about 150 clothespins
– about 15 inches wide
– about 14 inches tall
– straps are about 32 inches long each

What, you don’t sew?  Well, you’re in luck, later this week, this apron, the pink and yellow floral one, will be offered up for FREE in a fabulous GIVEAWAY!  But, you’ll have to come back later to enter…

Interested in buying one pre-made?  I have the top two aprons for sale over on my Etsy shop!

So, before offering this tutorial up for you guys… I had a couple of sewing friends give the tutorial a run through.  My friend Edna, a sewing NOVICE, made this pretty apron!

And my new friend Inder, of the fabulous blog Inder Loves Folk Art, made this over the weekend too!

My HUGE thanks to Edna and Inder for helping me get the kinks of the pattern.

So, speaking of that pattern…

First, please respect all of my hard work on coming up with the pattern and then putting it all together.  I hope that you make a ton of them, give them as gifts, sell them at local craft fairs and farmers markets… But please, do NOT sell these on line.

As a stay at home momma, I’m trying to make a few extra dollars while here at home and selling stuff on Etsy is how I’m doing it right now.  I know that many of you are in the same boat!  The original reason for this blog was to promote my Etsy shop (though it has turned into it’s own creature recently) with the hopes of making a few sales.

Thanks for understanding.

On to the tutorial… it’s a PDF file and you can download it here:

pillowcase clothespin apron tutorial final

If you make up an apron, pretty please with sugar and chocolate kisses on top, send me a picture?  I’d love to feature it on the blog!

Have fun and happy clotheslines!

 

 

8 responses »

  1. These are adorable!! What a great way to use an older pillowcase (esp. if you lost one of the pair)!

    Reply
    • Considering the fact that if it weren't for white people like Norman Borlaug there would at least 2 billion fewer third worlders maybe these experts are onto soin.hmegtno Whites = no bleeding heart liberals = nature culls humanoid population = happy times for cobras, lampreys and alligators.

      Reply
  2. Clever you…these are really neat! Thanks for sharing.:)

    Reply
  3. I have only been able to track down a Euro size pillowcase. How might I alter the instructions to work with it? I’ve been poring over them but I just can’t figure it out.

    Reply
  4. So cute, thanks so much.

    Reply
  5. Danielle Barbee

    I made one of these this afternoon. It’s just a teensy bit different, and i put a flower on it, but it’s mostly your design. LOVE IT! i see these becoming christmas presents for all the ladies in my life. Success! I’d love to send you a picture of it.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: 11 Tips for Using a Clothesline

  7. Pingback: How do I…hang laundry? – Missionary Mamas

Leave a Reply

