RSS Feed

Finally – I have my food processor again!

Posted on

food processorPlease ignore the nearly dead plants.  And the bottle of hootch.  Which is amazing and made locally by people I know.  Click on the picture for a link to their page.

Yup, it’s true.  I bought this pretty lady the January before the fire.  It’s taken over 1 1/2 years to get to a point of replacing it.  Why?  Because it’s stinking expensive!  (And, we bought the first one with a gift card earned via credit card points earned with work travel … so really pretty much free.)

If you are anything like my husband, you would like to be able to buy things made in AMERICA and not in places like say, China.  Not that there is anything wrong with China per se BUT – first – we’d like to have our own country actually employ people and support those people as they make real things.  Second – China is rather like the Wild West – few regulations and lots of cutting corners and who knows all what…  Stuff is made in China because their production costs are cheaper (and they’re likely cheaper for a reason – it’s just not as good).

But, I DARE you to find a food processor or nearly anything else NOT made in China or another Asian country.  First – there are no food processors made in the United States.  Second, I’m totally happy with supporting higher standards and pay of employees of the nice folks in Europe.

So what did I get?  A Magimix!  This lady, she’s speaks French!  And comes with a 30 year warranty.  And is crazy awesome and I missed her greatly and even looking back half way wished I had packed her into the car, too.

Because… I was wanting to buy her again 2 months ago!  But, for whatever reason, there were NO MORE in the US.  And the snooty store William Sonoma is the only retailer of Magimix and so I was just out of luck.  Now, there’s a long story to go with the purchasing saga of this little machine that I won’t bore you with but… do yourself a favor.  Don’t buy via Williams Sonoma over the phone or on their website.  They are lousy.  As in not emailing receipts, computers not accepting orders, store managers on the phone not even having a clue as to one of their higher priced items… blah.  (But, if you do, sign up for their emails – you get free shipping and 10% off your first order, and with these prices, you’ll need the discount.)  (And, I should say, that for all of my drama they finally gave me a 25% discount – doesn’t make me much happier but it I’ll take it.)   If you do need to buy this machine (and really, it’s totally fab) then go to a real store if you can.  Just saying.

Anyways. … I made dinner last night using cabbage.  A real cabbage not a bag of pre-shredded cabbage bits.  And I made crinkle cut carrot slices (I decided to go for it and got the extra blade pack while I was at it) and I have a LONG list of stuff to make in it!  Not to mention – baby food!

I’m just thrilled with my new machine, less than happy with the purchasing experience, and happy to be able to really cook again…

Which leads me to a post in a couple of days.  A new vintage recipe from my new vintage cookbook.  I’m SO excited.  I can’t wait to share!

Happy Wednesday!

2 responses »

  1. “New vintage”, too funny but I think I know what you mean. Vintage but new to you.

    Reply
  2. After buying TWO (count them, TWO) food processors that broke within 6 months of purchase, I think I better seriously consider buying something of a little higher quality. 30 year warranty sounds about right! And oooh, I want some hooch!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

